My UNIMAK Experience (Makeni)

The University of Makeni (UNIMAK) is a private university in the Northern Province of Sierra Leone that started in 2005 and gained full accredited in 2009. At UNIMAK “social development” stands at the heart of everything it does. For this reason, UNIMAK has made great efforts to develop academic programmes that are rooted in the everyday reality of contemporary Africa. Currently there are approximately 1500 students, 147 full time lecturers, 30 part time and 31 visiting professors who make up the UNIMAK family.

In 2010, I had the opportunity to gain admission at the University of Makeni for an undergraduate program in Development Studies. Having studied there for four years left me with a mind renewing desire to infect positive and transformative change in all I do with society.

SRC 2One of my many inspirators by then was the Vice Chancellor Rev Fr. Prof Joe Turay. He lectured me Social Policy in both qualifying and final year. His module gave me authority over social policy discuss of any kind, expands my desire to be at the centre for change and development, and above all become a job creator which I have practiced for years now.

 

SRCBeing there as Student, I ran for the Office of Secretary General in the Student Representative Council, a though contested process I won with an unlimited opportunity to interface with key players in the national governance landscape.

In those moment I thrive by living a life that compliments my studies, work and youth activism among others. It was occupying with a true sense of multitasking in very porous society where young people like me exist with limited resource to entertain full time learning. I enjoyed the unique environment which makes available universally accepted learning norms with an updated library facility, effective Student -Lecturer interaction and uttermost sanity is practiced and value for money is achieved.

Graduating with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Development Studies, I have made my path with different organisations, managing portfolios, providing strategic insight in programme delivery, become a Youth Activities at Global Stage and a job cultivator at National Level.

Currently, I am pursuing a Post Graduate Degree in Sustainable Development at the University of Makeni. It’s an amazing moment, an entertainment of dynamism and culture. The dynamism and idealism that motivated the development of UNIMAK in the past decade can be summed up to be a world class university with excellence in education, research and public engagement where sustainable peace and social justice transcend boundaries.

UNIMAK is a way to go. For the past five years, it has produced some of the finest young Lawyers in Sierra Leone.

At UNIMAK, we all come together to build a civilization of love.

One thought on “My UNIMAK Experience (Makeni)

Add yours

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑